I've received a message from Forumotion, is it true ?

Leeloo at 09h15
08
Dec
2009
I've received a message from Forumotion, is it true ?


Firstly, you need to know that mail from Forumotion have an address type : -------@forumotion.com (or @editboard.com)

In which case you receive an email from Forumotion :

Reason :Must I answer ?
New message in a topic you watch (*)Exclamation No
New private message in your inbox (*)Exclamation No
New registration on your forum (*)Exclamation No
New warning report on your forum (*)Exclamation No
Your forum creationExclamation No
Your forum deletionExclamation No
Sent litigationExclamation No
Reception of a litigationExclamation No
(*) : if the option is activated.


In conclusion: do not respond to these emails, and generally Forumotion will not contact you by mail. If you have a doubt, you can always ask for confirmation to a staff member on the support forum.

Beware fake mails :

If you receive a mail like this:
Dear Founder,
My name is ----, Forumotion Adminstrator.
A hacker is causing us problems lately, and is threatening to attack your forum.
So we can protect you as best as we can, I will need admin rights on your forum, so I can patch it and avoid you being hacked.
Please give me your login as soon as possible, so I can protect you from his hacking attempts.

Please also see an example link of how he proceeds : http://www.----.com

We count on your fast collaboration, this is a serious threat.

Best regards,
Forumotion Administrator.


How to react :

    - Do not answer nor click any link !
    - Copy / paste the mail and send it to a staff member of this forum if you want to be sure it's a fake.

    NOBODY will ever ask you your password within the staff of Forumotion. We do not need this information to ensure the security of your forum!


OK for mails, but I've got a PM from Forumotion ... ? ?

Same principle. If a member registers on your forum to send you a PM claiming to be Forumotion:

    - Do not answer nor click any link !
    - Save the mail account he used,
    - Copy / paste the PM and send it to a staff member of this forum if you want to be sure it's a fake.


If you have received this via the Contact option (reference [Contact] appears in the title)

    - Do not answer nor click any link !
    - Save the mail account he used,
    - Copy / paste the message and send it to a staff member of this forum if you want to be sure it's a fake.


Obviously, Forumotion never uses private messages to contact a forum administrator. Wink


Best,
(The real) Forumotion Team Smile
Similar topics
how can do this am using phbb2 for now an would also like to know how it is done on punbb version also Please an thanks
Just noticed we received our profit share from kooday. here's their message as posted on news page. I PUT IT IN BOLD. Profit-Share-Credit earnings for September 16th have been calculated and deposited into your accounts. Some monies were deposited
watch the ending, it is epic.
See also
more_less
Informations

0 Replies For the topic :
"I've received a message from Forumotion, is it true ?"

This topic has been viewed 10596 times.

Last message :
08/12/2009 at 09h15 by "Leeloo"